SAFE-BioPharma Leadership

Mollie Shields Uehling, President & CEO; 903-471-1150 m

Mollie directs the business and strategic activities of SAFE-BioPharma Association® and serves as the primary liaison with member companies, vendor partners and others in the growing SAFE-BioPharma community. She is a member of the association’s Board of Directors.

Mollie has more than 20 years of international trade and biopharmaceutical industry experience. Prior to joining SAFE-BioPharma Association, Ms. Shields Uehling was principal of Shields Uehling Associates, an international public affairs consultancy. She previously served in various leadership positions with Bristol-Myers Squibb, Wyeth, the International AIDS Vaccine Initiative (IAVI), and in the White House Office of the U.S. Trade Representative and the U.S. Foreign Commercial Service.

Peter Alterman, PhD., Chief Operating Officer; 301-943-7452 m

Peter serves as primary liaison with the U.S. FDA, other global regulatory authorities, and global standards and policy bodies. He also is responsible for a variety of association management functions.

He recently retired after 33 years with the U.S. federal government where he held numerous senior information security positions. Most recently, he was Senior Advisor to the National Program Office of the National Strategy for Trusted Identities in Cyberspace (NSTIC), NIST. Before that he served as Senior Advisor to the NIH CIO for Strategic Initiatives, Assistant CIO for e-authentication at the National Institutes of Health, and Chair of the U.S. Federal PKI Policy Authority. His role in Internet technology started in 1989 as a member of the Federal Research Internet Coordinating Committee.

Allison Burke, Marketing Manager; 903-471-1150

Allison Burke is responsible for the association's member services and for its social media outreach. She previously served as Association Manager at Capitol Hill Management Services of North Carolina where she handled a variety of membership services for a portfolio of associations. Allison earned a B.S. from East Carolina University in Greenville, NC.

Matt King, Vice President, Global Policy; (410) 271-5624

Matt King has 20+ years of cybersecurity expertise, focusing on Identity, Credential, and Access Management for a broad range of commercial and government entities. He served in the role of Senior Policy Analyst and Identity Management Subject Matter Expert for the US Federal Public Key Infrastructure (FPKI) Policy Authority under the US Government’s Identity Credential and Access Management Subcommittee (ICAMSC) for more than a decade. He also has worked for Booz Allen Hamilton supporting the National Security Agency’s PKI and Biometrics Research initiatives. He holds multiple degrees in Computer Systems Management and Information Systems and a Certificate in Information Resources Management.

Gary Secrest, Chief Technology Officer; 609-306-5560 m

Gary Secrest is responsible for developing the technical and operational components of the SAFE-BioPharma standard and participates in leadership of the association. He is a globally-recognized information security authority who helped lead development of Johnson & Johnson's information security risk program. For three decades he was engaged in the cutting edges of information security at the US Department of Defense. He also is a member of the SAFE-BioPharma Board of Directors.

Jon Weisberg, Director, Communications and Public Relations; 801-860-9977 m

Jon is responsible for the association’s public relations and communications outreach. He also manages trademark activities for the SAFE-BioPharma brand.

He was a senior public relations executive with Bristol-Myers Squibb Company and an executive in several public relations agencies. He also serves as president of Weisberg Communications Company, a public relations and communications consulting firm and is an adjunct professor in the graduate communications program of Westminster College in Salt Lake City.